Cooking with Bella

Believe it or not, I couldn’t even fry an egg properly until last year. Yes I know how to “cook” instant noodles but the thing I was most proud of was French toast. That’s it. I remember attempting to make chocolate cake for my high school sweetheart, turned out my mom made him the chocolate cake while I was “supervising”. I was not interested in cooking or preparing my own meal at all until very recently. My motto was, “if you didn’t wanna spend the rest of your life in the kitchen, don’t learn to cook.” Apparently I’ve changed. Not that I wanna spend the rest of my life in the kitchen but I’ve found joy coming out from the kitchen and I’ve learned that it doesn’t have to take so long. There are so many easy recipes for busy people like you and I. There’s no reason we shouldn’t participate once in a while in preparing what makes us happy. It’s no secret, I find happiness in food, among other things, so I thought, what the hell, let’s learn to cook!

I started learning via Youtube. Since I’m a hands-on learner, I started experimenting. But I also know that the basics are important, so I started helping out mom in the kitchen and did as she ordered. Like many Asian moms, when you ask them how much salt, soy sauce and the like they put, they’ll tell you that “just estimate yourself” or on the internet, they’ll write, “season to taste”, it’s really not helping for beginners like myself. But I get the hang of it the more I cook. I guess like many things in life, you just have to try and fail and try again, with different methods (in this case, different ounces) of course, I trust that you’re not insane. Anyway, what I really want to share with you this week is my successful attempt to feed my own family 🙂

Below are the pictures of the dishes I’ve made.

On Wednesday, October 14, I’ve made these for lunch. Fried Chicken (Chinese-Style), Sweet potato leaves with garlic, and Long Bean Omelette.

IMG_3777

Those are rather simple dishes I’d say because honestly speaking, I’ve put more effort and hopes for dinner.

IMG_3773

Chinese Kale with little anchovies

IMG_3774

Pork meatballs on top of lotus and that wasn’t the highlight…

Please meet my favorite dish of the night:

IMG_3772

Shrimps surrounding Cashew Nuts and Enoki mushrooms at the bottom where you can’t see them from the photo and the special sauce I’ve seasoned to taste 😀

All these years, my mom has been the one who prepares our meals. For the first time, she was able to taste what her daughter made, out of love and careful judgment, on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 as the highest score, she ranked my lunch as 6 and dinner as 8. I was on cloud nine that night.  I felt honored to cook for my family. So if it’s possible, I encourage you to try it out and prepare to have fun in your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

