The End-of-Year Blog Post

Good-Bye-2015-Welcome-2016

So that’s it, the next Tuesday will be in the next year. It’s time to put the final touch to this blog for 2015. Well, 2015 has certainly served me well. Better than I expected. Words fail me when I try to explain how grateful I am to this year. Many things have happened, many first-times in my life including hopping on the plane alone, cooking for the family, baking for my loved ones, winning a debate competition, and et cetera. I have learned so much along the twists and twirling route that brought me where I am right here right now, of course there is still more to learn and explore. So before we meet again, my dear faithful readers, I would like to write to you on a couple of random matters which hopefully will seal this year beautifully.

Books I have read in 2015

Well, I must mention books because I seek so much pleasure in reading. However, when I took a look at my read-list, I felt ashamed; I wish I have read more. Besides Grimm’s Fairy Tales, I have not read a single novel this year. I even abandoned my favorite author, Stephen King.

  1. The Heart of a Leader by Ken Blanchard
  2. Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen Degeneres
  3. Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Wilhelm Grimm
  4. Transform Your Habits by James Clear
  5. Mastering Creativity by James Clear
  6. Letters of a Businessman to His Son by G. Kingsley Ward
  7. Good News for Those Trying Harder by Alan Kraft
  8. Are you Smart Enough to Work at Google by William Poundstone
  9. The Lazy Way to Success by Fred Gratzon
  10. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  11. Surviving a Spiritual Mismatched by Lee Strobel and Leslie Strobel
  12. Who Moved My Cheese by Spencer Johnson

Great Apps I have exploited in 2015

These are the apps which I just have to recommend.

  1. Blinkist (if you’re like me, always claiming busy to read more, this is the app you just gotta own, preferably if you’re willing to pay a few bucks to subscribe!)
  2. Memrise (Learning Japanese has never been more relaxing, I love this app which facilitates short and long-term memory, also, or rather, especially because this app is so handy for all those little moments of waiting in the line, commuting or even while making businesses in the loo.)
  3. Waze (Man, this is the one app that has been a great help and company during the traffic, it helped me to reach any place I need to be safely, though it did fail me one or two times, I put my trust in it as long as I have my cellular data or portable WiFi working good for me.)

Countries I have travelled to in 2015

Japan – The 2 weeks in Japan were filled with ups and downs, being in a country where you don’t speak the language was not easy but I’ve pulled off, in the end, I intend to keep those happy memories with me and forget the unpleasant ones. I’ve travelled to Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Roppongi, Shimbashi, Asakusa, Ueno, Tokyo City, Matsumoto, Nagano, and Niigata. Unforgettable experiences!

Thailand – 2 days in Thailand, specifically in Hatyai. Been on a family road trip, drove in another land was indeed exciting.

Favorite Sitcom of the Year 2015

Brooklyn 99. Love all the characters in it, they’re like a big family in the precinct. But what really got me is that it was like seeing myself in the mirror as I watched one of the characters admitting her flaws, Amy Santiago:  being too competitive, prone to jealousy, a bit of a killjoy, etc.

Areas I’ve made progress (albeit just a little bit)

  1. My driving skills (I got better and more confident behind the wheel now than I was a year ago)
  2. Overcoming fear at the right moments (I did see myself improving on this but I know I need to remind myself again and again that “fear is just one more impulse that needs to be ignored” – Rory Vaden.)
  3. Managing my time (I used to belittle the value of an hour, as if I can do so little in an hour but now, to me an hour means that I can take a shower, do laundry, write a blog post and read 20 pages of anything)
  4. Recognizing the routes, the streets, the signboards, the locations and landmarks (Yes, I still depend very much on Waze but yeah at the very least, I do know how to make my way back from Penang to Kampar.)
  5. Cooking (duh, I used to only know how to make instant noodles, that was it. Now, I can make a meal and a pretty presentable one.)

Areas I need to improve in 2016

  1. Exercising (I feel proud that I jog regularly but I gotta admit that I’m so lazy to move my ass from the chair at times. I kept putting off my 30-day squat challenge for no good reasons.)
  2. Parking (I hate parking, I dread parking. Parking is the second worst thing I do, the first thing you ask? Was definitely to have a good conversation with my kin)
  3. Japanese (I am so far from advanced stage. I still can’t understand without subtitles and I still can’t remember all the katakana, Memrise did help but I feel that I’m not committed enough to make huge progress, or maybe I should just not be too hard on myself)
  4. Be genuinely interested in other people (I’m so indulged with my stories that I don’t pay attention to what people have to say, I spent too much time telling others what happened to me, now that I have a blog, I have a channel to do that, I don’t need to tell others, I should just listen.)
  5. Spending (I am still not good with my money, I mean, where are they? Where have they been? I gotta keep track and stick to my budget or I’m gonna start setting some punishment for myself.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

