My Messy Table

12825512_1106391672738911_1380323645_nI have been working amidst of my messy table for a few weeks now. Come to think of it, either I’m on the verge of going nuts or I’ve overcome my Obsessive Compulsive Disorder on being neat and tidy at all times. I’d like the latter to be true. Working at my messy table isn’t easy. I must remember where i put everything especially the little things like thumb tacks, clippers, eraser and whatnot; otherwise i’d be spending unnecessary time to go on a crazy search. Having said that, I’d like to share some of the good things about my messy table.

i. Helps to get things done

Most of the things that are left on the table are the important things that I’d need to deal with. It is as if they’re shouting to be entertained. In order to get rid of them, i’d adopt the mindset of wanting to get them done before i can assign a better place for them. In other words, a messy table helps me to be efficient and effective.

ii. Helps to eliminate the out-of-sight, out-of-mind drama

You know when you keep things away in the drawer, in the bag, you’d tend to forget about them. A messy table full of agendas serves as a better reminder than the one in your notebook or iphone; it is harder to ignore. You know you can’t afford to, that’s why they appear on your table.

iii. Helps to prevent distractions

So you wanna watch a youtube video and after you watched the first one, another title caught your eyes and you wanna watch another. That’s not going to happen when you have a messy table, you can’t enjoy it fully. Your eyes will detect the tasks in front of you and soon you will feel the guilt knocking at the door. Let it in, turn off the distraction and get back to work!

Leave a Reply

