Another Take on Time

I have always been interested in the topic, time. Time is something fascinating to me personally because I was once that type of person who always feels a need to occupy my time with something, the type who can’t stand the idea of doing nothing, who believed in the myth of multitasking. Having said that, I also found myself, at times, guilty of sloth, procrastinating and daydreaming.

Thinkers should do more, doers should think more. I always consider myself the former. I seize the opportunity to exercise my brain muscle whenever possible but when it comes to stretching my body, it’s like the gravity works against me and my ass will adamantly stick to the surface, refuse to be carried. Nonetheless, I should be cut some slack because I am well aware of my problems and that I have started to apply kaizen in my life. For starter, I knew I am lazy to hit the gym early in the morning so I started my day with yoga instead. Yoga has helped my mind to be in sync with my body, which in turn, improved my mindfulness and led me to stay on one task with better focus and attention. What I mean is that I have started to take unitasking more seriously. I mean I still listen to music whenever I am writing or reading or doing the laundry, but I have grown accustomed to not checking on my phone every 10 minutes.

18361307_1503583443019730_1706697165_n

When time is concerned, an interesting theory always seems to follow – relativity, that is “the dependence of various physical phenomena on relative motion of the observer and the observed objects regarding the nature and behavior of the time,” quoted from one of the dictionaries. Or if you speak English, Einstein or somebody else had a better way of putting this, “when you sit with a nice girl for two hours you think it’s only a minute, but when you sit on a hot stove for a minute you think it’s two hours. That’s relativity,” For me, the longest 2 minutes I always have is when I’m doing plank. In other words, relativity leads you to hear these phrases, “seems like just yesterday” or “has it been two years already?” or “gosh, it’s only been 5 minutes? I thought the show is ending.” But in fact, as Paulo Coelho wrote, “time neither moves nor is it stationary. Time changes.”

I may not believe in how evolution theory describes the existence of human beings, but I do agree that we are evolving with each passing day. And that’s why it frustrates some people who disagree with changes. They want things to stay exactly the same. Adele feels sad when she’s getting old, it makes her restless, she feels so mad for getting old, it makes her reckless. Yesterday was my 24th birthday and it didn’t make me sad, in fact, it makes me treasure my life, no scratch that, my day, even more. I open my eyes in the morning and feel grateful to my creator that I have received another present. Pun intended.

A psychologist, who deals with young people like me who are in our 20s, helps these lads and ladies to get on with their life by advising that they should learn to make better choices, especially in their 20s, because that would affect their life hereafter. I agree with some of the things she said like how important small choices are, but I also keep an open mind about it’s never too late. That’s probably why we’re encouraged to live each day as if it’s a new day. Paulo Coelho affirmed that by saying, “we can neither blame nor be grateful to the past for what is happening now. Each new experience…has nothing whatsoever to do with past experiences, it’s always new.” It might sound contradicting to the idea of ripple effect or butterfly effect, but I guess if you truly live in the moment, you wouldn’t think about all the wrong things in the past and you will only focus yourself in the moment right where you are to do the right thing and believe that it’s right for you, other things just don’t matter and can’t matter because again, time changes.

 

Leave a Reply

