No :)

After working for a week, I feel so lucky for investing some time before to understand the Power of When. During the gap after college and before the commencement of my long-term job, I have learned more about time management, productivity, and the intricacies of habits, than I ever did in the last 10 years of my life. You see, during that period of intermission, I had all the free time in the world. The world was my oyster and I was able to do anything I wanted. Now, I have odd work hours to follow and I don’t get to see the sunrise from my bed. Yet, life is good because I have learned the secret to time management – setting priorities.

I don’t have time means this is not my priority. Sometimes we have “no choice” because we can’t be “selfish” so we gradually set ourselves a trap by becoming a yes man or a yes woman. If we don’t take care of ourselves, nobody else is responsible for our happiness. And taking care of yourself means that you are trying to balance, you are seeing problems with your life and you’re doing something about it. Sacrifices should be made once in a while, the give-and-take theory is sound, we should all do something we don’t like once in a while but if you have to put off with something all the time, there’s either something wrong somewhere or something is awfully wrong with you, that maybe it’s your rotten attitude that makes everything sucks. Let’s say you’d say yes to all the luncheons or dinners your colleagues invited you to, only because you have difficulties saying no, yet deep down inside you know you can’t enjoy them because you have other things you’d rather do. If you don’t like it, do something about it. People should understand that it is the demand or request that you are rejecting instead of them as a human being you are rejecting.

One tip for those who can’t reject, try this the next time, say no and smile. Or simply, if saying no is too hard, shake your head and smile. Unless you’re Indian, then nod your head maybe?

yesnotarot

